I am not big on the Bible-reading style of “Oh Lord, reveal to me what You want to tell me. I’m going to open up my Bible and wherever it falls open to, I’ll know it’s from You.” Not a fan, personally. However, during a night of praying specifically against spiritual attack, I felt a push to read a psalm. I opened the Bible, it fell open to Psalm 16, and it was perfect. I looked later at the other psalms around it and they were not appropriate to the setting, but Psalm 16 was (is) incredible, so I thought I’d share.

Que Dios te bendiga.

God bless you.

 

Psalm 16

(A special psalm by David.)

The Best Choice

 1Protect me, LORD God!

   I run to you for safety,

    2and I have said,

   “Only you are my Lord!

   Every good thing I have

   is a gift from you.”

    3Your people are wonderful,

   and they make me happy, [a] 4but worshipers of other gods

   will have much sorrow. [b]I refuse to offer sacrifices

   of blood to those gods

   or worship in their name.

    5You, LORD, are all I want!

   You are my choice,

   and you keep me safe.

    6You make my life pleasant,

   and my future is bright.

    7I praise you, LORD,

   for being my guide.

   Even in the darkest night,

   your teachings fill my mind.

    8I will always look to you,

   as you stand beside me

   and protect me from fear.

    9With all my heart,

   I will celebrate,

   and I can safely rest.

    10I am your chosen one.

   You won’t leave me in the grave

   or let my body decay.

    11You have shown me

   the path to life,

   and you make me glad

   by being near to me.

   Sitting at your right side, [c] I will always be joyful.