I jumped on the bus the other day to head to the OM house and, as is the norm here in Santiago, there was a musician on the bus. Some of these musicians are quite talented and receive a lot of tips from the passengers; others are not and don’t. I was on a bus one time where a man had is own personal amp to make sure everyone could hear him, and then proceeded to astonish and amaze us (nope) by playing his instrument: a drinking straw with holes in it. He didn’t get many tips.

Anyway, the other day I jumped on the bus and there was a musician playing his guitar and singing. As soon as I got on, I started smiling, because the man was putting his heart and soul into his music, eyes closed, head rocking back and forth as he belted out “Down On the Corner” in heavily-accented English. In quick succession followed a heart-felt rendition of “Have You Ever Seen the Rain” and “Susie Q”. I think all of his studying may have come from the same cd.

That man did get a tip from me, if only because in the middle of downtown Santiago, Chile I was able to find me some good ol’ Creedence Clearwater Revival, y’all. I then went and ate some Kentucky Fried Chicken. No I didn’t. But I could have. It’s here. Tangent.